

GUITAR ENSEMBLE & WORLD DRUMMING ENSEMBLE

MONDAY, DECEMBER 4, 2023 PERFORMING ARTS CENTER 7:00PM



Guitar Ensemble

Directed by Samuel Bergstrom+

El Vito Traditional Spanish Folk Song

arr. Bonell

Française Francis Poulenc (1899-1963)

arr. Criswick

Menuett Luigi Boccherini (1743-1805)

arr. Götze

Tiene Que Ser Ignacio Cervantes (1847-1905)

arr. Vasquez

The Sound of Paradiddle Jürg Kindle (b.1960)

All Blues Miles Davis (1926-1991)

Guitar Ensemble

Cyril Dela Cruz^

Kendall McCann*

Margaret Mordal^

Nick Mordal^

Mason Oberleitner^

Jason Vanselow+

Drums

Andrew Green*

World Drumming Ensemble

Directed by Dr. David Schmalenberger+

Gahu – social dance music Ewe people of Ghana

Andrew Green, master drum

Djembe/Djun Djun medley #1

Sogolon—fishing harvest celebration Mopti people of Mali

Koreduga—music to accompany acrobatics

Bamana people of Mali

Tiriba—festival dance music Susu people of Lower Guinea

Circle Dance – childrens' game song Ghana, West Africa

Agbekor – warriors dance music Fon people of Dahomey (Benin)

Bawaa–ceremonial dance music Dagaare people of Ghana

Cyril Dela Cruz, master drum

Festejo– Afro-Peruvian dance music Peru, South America

Jason Vanselow+, guitar; Mason Oberleitner^, guitar; Sam Bergstrom+, bass

Djembe/Djun Djun medley #2

Jansa—social dance music Kasonke people of Mali

Madan—harvest celebration music

Marinke people of Mali

Sunu—athletic dance music Soninke people of Mali

Kpatsa – social dance music Ga people of Ghana

World Drumming Ensemble

Brenden Adolfson

Reece Arndt

Cyril Dela Cruz^

Andrew Green*

Lauren Plienis

Dave Schmalenberger+

^{*} AFA Music Majors ^ ARCC Alumni + ARCC Faculty

Upcoming Performances

7:00pm in the Performing Arts Center, FREE to the public.

Concert Band and String Orchestra—December 7, 2023

AFA Recital—December 11, 2023

Special Thanks

Anoka-Ramsey Music Faculty: Jason Vanselow, Melissa Bergstrom, Sam Bergstrom, Geoffrey Senn, Scott Agster, Matthew Bertrand, Scott Johnson, Richard Joseph, Liz Kuivinen, Laura LeVoir, Kameron Markworth, Anastasiya Nyzkodub, Joel Salvo, Dave Schmalenberger, Megan Small, and Danielle Vinup.

We would also like to thank the students and staff at Anoka-Ramsey, as well as members of the community for their continued support of the performing arts at this institution. Special thanks to: Peter Lerohl, Jon Kleba, Sheila Provost, Ann Worwa, our deans: Hannah Oliha-Donaldson, Mike Opoku, and Lisa Harris, Vice-presidents Steve Crittenden, Robert Perez, and Brandyn Woodard, and College President Kent Hanson.

Anoka-Ramsey is a fully accredited member of the National Association of Schools of Music.

www.anokaramsey.edu/music
www.arccmusic.com
Contact us at music@anokaramsey.edu

ARCC Land Acknowledgement Related to our mission of supporting and fostering learning through the generation and dissemination of knowledge, we acknowledge that the land our college is located upon is the original homelands of the Anishinaabe, Dakota, and Lakota tribal nations. We acknowledge the painful history of genocide and forced removal from this territory, and we honor and respect the many diverse Indigenous peoples still connected to this land.